Government Announces Padma Awards 2019 | List Of Padma Awardees 2019


 Padma Awards 2019: The government today announced names of the Padma awardees 2019 on the eve of the 70th Republic Day. The Padma Awards are one of the highest civilian honors of India announced annually on the eve of Republic Day. The Awards are given in three categories: Padma Vibhushan (for exceptional and distinguished service), Padma Bhushan (distinguished service of higher order) and Padma Shri (distinguished service).

Padma Awards were instituted in 1954 to be awarded to citizens of India in recognition of their distinguished contribution in various disciplines/ fields of activities, viz.- art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, civil service, etc.

History :

The Government of India instituted two civilian awards-Bharat Ratna & Padma Vibhushan in 1954. The latter had three classes namely Pahela Varg, Dusra Varg, and Tisra Varg. These were subsequently renamed as Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri.

Bharat Ratna :

Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian award in the country. It is awarded in recognition of exceptional service/performance of the highest order in any field of human endeavor. It is treated on a different footing from the Padma Award. The recommendations for Bharat Ratna are made by the Prime Minister to the President of India.

Padma Awards :

Padma Awards, which were instituted in the year 1954, is announced every year on the occasion of Republic Day except for brief interruption(s) during the years 1978 and 1979 and 1993 to 1997.

The awards are given in three categories, namely,

Padma Vibhushan for exceptional and distinguished service.

Padma Bhushan for distinguished service of a high order; and

Padma Shri for distinguished service.

List Of Padma Awards 2019

Padma Vibhushan – 4

Padma Bhushan – 14

Padma Shri – 94

Note :

  • Awardees of the women are – 21
  • From the category of Foreigners/NRI/PIO/OCI – 11
  • Posthumous awardees – 3
  • Transgender person – 1

Bharat Ratna Awardees 2019 :

The President has been pleased to award Bharat Ratna to the following:

1. Nanaji Deshmukh (posthumously)

2. Dr. Bhupen Hazarika (posthumously)

3. Shri Pranab Mukherjee

Padma Shri Awards 2019 – Click Here

Follow and Subscribe to Learning Guide @Learning Guide for more latest Information about the Padma Awards and also for latest job alerts. You can get more latest updates by joining our Facebook Page i.e., Learning Guide. And you can also follow us on Instagram, Twitter, etc.

Read More


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here